Dartmoor the hike, Belstone village to Belstone Tor (post1)

 

It was about 17.00 on Friday 27 April 2012, we pulled into the car park at Belstone village Dartmoor the weather was clear and fine, we had finally arrived.

It was a mad Thursday evening. I was about to re pack my backpack, for the fifth time, when jay called round for me to give a quick eyes over on his kit. It was a good job too as the tent Jay was about to take with him was for at least 6 men and had no poles in the bag. I had to loan him my Asda £10.00 special, it is waterproof but suffers from condensation build up but at that late hour it was the best we had. So with the tent sorted and a few other issues dealt with Jay kit was ready and his backpack fitted. My kit was getting heaver and giving me some concern so with yet another check through my kit list I set about reducing it even more. It was around 01.30 Friday morning before I was totally happy and with the bag packed with all my requirements I went to bed.

We pulled our back packs on to our backs did final kit checks confirmed the compass bearing and did the first of our video diary entry. Setting off through the small village of Belstone we entered the moor. the first Tor, Belstone was only about 1.5 miles into the moor which did not take long to reach. As stated, the weather was great, a lovely warm evening with no wind. Our expectations were along with our motivation high.

Snapshot 1 (01-05-2012 22-13)    Snapshot 2 (01-05-2012 22-15)

Snapshot 3 (01-05-2012 22-16)    Snapshot 4 (01-05-2012 22-18)

At Belstone Village car park

Jay had been designated the camp site location officer and in his role he chose a great spot on Belstone Tor. We spent around half an hour exploring the Tor and climbing to the summit we were admiring the magnificent view across Dartmoor. We had an updated weather forecast for the weekend it stated that rain would move into our location later that evening with the morning starting out very foggy and very poor visibility. After pitching the tents and securing the site we planned to start the next day at around 07.00 hrs to give the fog a chance to disperse with the weather forecast estimating an eight to nine o’clock dispersal.

Snapshot 1 (01-05-2012 22-18)   Snapshot 1 (01-05-2012 22-22)

Snapshot 2 (01-05-2012 22-23)   Snapshot 1 (01-05-2012 22-20)

Exploring Belstone Tor

It was getting dark now so our evening meals were prepared. The food had been pre cooked and so only needed to be warmed through. I had a beef bolognese, with out the wall paper paste (spaghetti)  followed by a nice cup o tea.

We were out of our tents again for a smoke and to witness the absolute nothing to see. It is very rare that I find myself in a place that has no man made light pollution. Unfortunately the fog had started to set in and so we could not see the anticipated stars at night show. It was starting to rain and so off to our beds we went.

Snapshot 1 (01-05-2012 22-26)   Snapshot 2 (01-05-2012 22-21)

Snapshot 2 (01-05-2012 22-26)   Snapshot 3 (01-05-2012 22-27)

Sunset @ Belstone Tor

I was just about to make my second video log entry when the heavens opened and torrential rain started falling.

Saturday 28th April.

Woke at 06.00, the night had been ok. The rain had stopped it was not too cold just a slight chill in the tent. I lit my cooker which instantly warmed the tent and put the kettle on. I say kettle, I was using aluminium mess tins one to cook food and the other to boil water. Boiling water in a mess tin takes no time at all and only using sufficient water for my immediate needs  I soon had a hot drink prepared. I had not yet looked outside but it was still early I could not hear the others stirring so set about cooking my breakfast. Peeking outside could wait.

Breakfast consisted of pre cooked scrambled eggs, bacon and mushrooms. The smell along with the taste was fantastic. Fast approaching 06.30, time to get out of the tent and have a look see.

I couldn’t see anything, nothing. Just about able to make out the other tents that were only a few yards away from my own. Fog, serious thick fog. It was that bad like being inside a small whitish grey tin. There was no sound from any direction not even wind.

The others were waking I armed myself with the video camera, I wanted to record their first waking moments on a very foggy Dartmoor.

First out, well his head anyway, was Stuart. “I had a bit of a problem” he protested at the camera. This was either going to be funny or serious and knowing Stu, probably both so i just let the camera role. He had not yet noticed the fog. “The Tavistock bagger visited my tent last night the bastard, good grief its foggy”. Apparently he was caught short during the night and in need of a dump lost his orientation, struggling to get out of his tent in the pitch black had to have a dump in his mess tin. “and ive got a headache too”. The only other sounds to be heard was Jay, laughing is face off in his tent.

The Tavistock Bagger. Well this creature according to legend, creeps into your tent  in the late of night whilst you are asleep. He beats you around the head, then dumps in your mouth. Leaving you with a headache and a mouth like a baby’s morning nappy. Sounds like a hangover to me and for Stu, a mess in his mess tin.

Snapshot 1 (05-05-2012 04-22)

Stu emerging from his tent with a full mess tin and private swimming pool.

Snapshot 3 (05-05-2012 04-23)  Snapshot 3 (05-05-2012 04-39)

Fog closing in on our position

With everyone out of their tents it was time to asses the situation. Stu’s and Jay’s tents had during the night suffered from the rain. Both tents had leaked via the vent at the top of the tents, combined with their own condensation both tents have there own built in swimming pool. Not a great start. Although they had a bit of a damp start, their spirits were high. My tent had no water or condensation problems as it was designed to deal with such conditions. Who’s laughing now Stu?

Snapshot 1 (01-05-2012 22-25)  Snapshot 1 (05-05-2012 04-26)

Snapshot 2 (05-05-2012 04-26)  Snapshot 3 (05-05-2012 04-27)

Wet & dry kit fog now closed right in

The wind had started to pick up by now and was getting quite strong. Stu, in de-pitching his tent pulled the pegs up first with out lowering the tent. The tent decided to get a head start on us and was picked up by the wind and sent on its way with Stu and Jay giving chase.

Snapshot 1 (05-05-2012 04-30)  Snapshot 2 (05-05-2012 04-30)

Atented escape of Stu’s tent

We decided that a bit of fog would not stop us and so, we decamped, dialled in the direction of travel into the compasses and set off to Oak Tor still unable to see more than a few yards in front of us.

Snapshot 2 (01-05-2012 22-25)  Snapshot 4 (05-05-2012 04-24)

Snapshot 4 (05-05-2012 04-28)  Snapshot 5 (05-05-2012 04-28)

More shots taken on Saturday morning @ Belstone Tor

~ by redi on May 9, 2012.

Leave a comment